Journey Into Blackness

27 June 2000 tuesday ~7:55 pm

I began the journey with the vaguest of questions — a loosely phrased, “Show me what I need to know, take me where I need to go.”  As soon as the drumming began, I was in it full speed.  I saw myself in a dark metal stairway with lots of blown sand.  There was bright sunlight coming in around the door.

I opened the door and found myself at the edge of a deserted stone amphitheater-like place.  The sun was beating down upon my head, and I looked out on a wide, empty space.  There was a lot of dust and sand and not a tree to be seen.  I hesitated just a moment and then ran down the steps and half way across the dusty floor of the amphitheater to the center.

There was a giant snake there.  It was a desert rattler the size of an amusement park ride.  I leaped onto its back, and we were off.

He moved in the peculiar side-ways slither that snakes often have, and though my surroundings were a blur, I saw clearly that straight ahead there was a hole in the rock.  I felt some small, fleeting anxiety before we plunged into the hole.

Almost immediately, I lost consciousness, and when I came to, C. had just switched on the lamp and one of the other journeyers was standing up to open the blinds.

I felt some sadness and a dual certainty: that I should not allow my dreams to get ahead of my reality and that the ride ahead, though at times scary, would ultimately turn out alright.

I continued to feel incredibly hot.  I don’t know if it’s because I had just eaten or because of my acupuncture treatment earlier in the day, but both T. (who is usually hot) and C. mentioned that the room felt cool to them.

Leave a Reply

