Journal Entry: Healing The Broken (9.8.98)

Thoughts from a Walk-about in Central Gardens.

My heart’s desire seems to lie in the direction of taking the broken and helping to make it whole again.  I noticed repeatedly my impulses toward broken and discarded things by the roadside were to say, “What could I do with that?  What might I do to make it whole or functional again?”

I saw a vase with a gaping hole in its side and a broken lip on one side.  Again, my first impulse was to imagine how it might be restored.  Finally, I put the vase down and started back towards “work” again.  I was feeling dizzy now and overheated, and my brain really needed a rest.

Then I saw one page of a novel on somebody’s driveway so I picked it up and carried it with me.  The novel was by someone named Sharon Green.  It’s probably just a  cheap novel, but I added it to my afternoon’s toolkit.

Then the thought came to me: my calling lies here.  Always when I see a thing discarded, my first impulse is to pick it up, dust it off, and try to imagine how it could be useful.

Then the suggestion came: perhaps you should try a ministry of sorts.  It’s no wonder the adviser/counselor role has always made sense.

Of course, the other side of this is that I sometimes have difficulty with follow-through.  This is the area in which I need to focus.  To feed your artist’s ego, follow through on their ideas.

If creativity is really only 1% inspiration, but 99% perspiration, the young artist grows into their discipline by cultivating follow-through.  Without the discipline to see a project through to its natural conclusion,  art may become a hobby.  “Hobby” is just fine as a dalliance but with a smidgen of talent and a lot of effort, it can become something more lasting, with real value.

There is value to bringing home a piece of forgotten parchment or painter’s canvas, but to throw it in the corner and let it gather dust just adds clutter to life, not value.  Getting over one’s own fear of success and allowing oneself to take a creative risk — these are two of the keys to an artistic recovery, to freeing one’s inner artist.

Stop talking and start doing.  That is another key.

Get over the need to make situations better.  Realize that you can’t change some people or even influence some situations, and you will take back your own power and have the strength for the “good fight”.  In my case, perhaps I should listen, empathize and make suggestions when requested.   cannot change their reality or make their situation all better.  I can sympathize and offer emotional support without trying to provide physical or financial support.

1 Comment

  1. ricklamplugh said,

    November 30, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Jim, I really like what you have written here. I do hope that you follow through and continue with your writing. There’s talent here. Love, uncle Rick


Leave a Reply

