At the end of eight days with no internet, a brief quote by a creative genius to warm up to the task of writing again

“I deliberately chose to break with traditions in order to be more true to Tradition than current conventions and ideas would permit. The most vital course is usually the rougher one and lies through conventions oftentimes settled into laws that must be broken, with consequent liberation of other forces that  cannot stand freedom.  So a break of this nature is a thing dangerous, nevertheless indispensable to society.  Society recognizes the danger and makes the break usually fatal to the [one] who makes it.  It should not be made without reckoning the danger and sacrifice, without the ability to withstand severe punishment, nor without the sincere faith that the end will justify the means, nor do I believe it can be effectively made without all of these.”

— Frank Lloyd Wright, as quoted in Counterculture Through The Ages by R. U. Sirius, p xvi-xvii.

2 Comments

  1. September 4, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Hi, Jim, As with your earlier post, on the name Smyrna, this one also apparently did not make it to your blog page, so I couldn’t comment there. What I want to know is, was eight days without the Internet your decision, or did you have computer/ISP problems? Love, Dad Date: Wed, 4 Sep 2013 19:34:53 +0000 To: famlamp@hotmail.com

    • greenfae said,

      September 4, 2013 at 5:18 pm

      I don’t know why it didn’t post, but thank you for letting me know. I just reposted, so hopefully you see it now. My previous “post” on Smyrna is more of a stub than a full fledged post. It is nicely formatted but ultimately not very fulfilling, IMHO, so at the last minute I labeled it an IDEA post, meaning I might come back and fill it out later, and then switched it to “privately published.” I haven’t quite figured out how to publish without publicizing yet. My eight days without internet resulted from the power supply going bad on my modem. Of course, I didn’t know that until the technician came to my house (which took a few days to arrange), tested everything, determined that was the problem and then left me to figure out how to replace it on my own. Got to love cable company customer service! (Hint: after 5 or 10 minutes on the phone, the cable company overnighted me another one for free.)

      Love,

      Jim


Leave a Reply

