In Case You Missed It… Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Sent Off By Salman Rushdie

So as some of my regular readers may have gathered, I have a fairly active mind and a lot of reading interests, many of which overlap somewhere between thirty years of personal journals and my regular reading of the New York Times.

I had just read the cover story of the “Book Review” insert in The Times from a couple of weeks back.  There was a lovely and generous send off of Gabriel Garcia Marquez by another master of “magical realism,” Salman Rushdie.  I got excited because I remembered an essay I wrote when I was applying to college.  In my memory, the essay was about how I related to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and so would have made great fodder for my take on Salman Rushdie’s send off of Marquez.

Only thing is, when I tracked down that essay (which I do still have, archivist that I am, in my “high school essay” folder), I was somewhat mortified to discover that it wasn’t about how I related to Gabriel Garcia Marquez at all but how I related to Mario Vargas Llosa.  Three names, from an older generation, from the Americas, and an author but not a lot of similarity beyond that.  According to Wikipedia, Vargas Llosa “writes prolifically across an array of literary genres, including literary criticism and journalism. His novels include comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers.”  Garcia Marquez, however, started off as a journalist but was most well-known for popularizing a writing style known as “magic realism.”

Oh, well, such are the vicissitudes of memory and time.

In any case, the article is well worth reading.  Go here to check it out.

3 Comments

  1. May 30, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Jim, Thanks for posting this. I’ve read some of Marquez, but only fugitive pieces, like this, by Rushdie. Still, you gotta love his final comparison between Marquez’s mythical village and his own India and Pakistan: “Both are places with a strong colonial history, and in both places religion is of great importance and God is alive, and so, unfortunately, are the godly.”

    • greenfae said,

      May 30, 2014 at 11:32 am

      It’s a great quote. I would use it as my signature, except for the flames it would reflexively send in my direction. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hadn’t got around to writing an actual notice about it on Facebook, although I was planning something along the lines of, “Join me as I confuse two great masters of Latin American literature.”

  2. June 27, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    […] Garcia MarquezIn Case You Missed It… Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Sent Off By Salman RushdieGabriel Garcí­a MárquezGabriel García Márquez: 6 March 1927 (or was it 1928Nobel-winning […]


Leave a Reply

